Social Security Programs You Qualify For

– social security programs

Knowing which Social Security disability program to apply for is incredibly important and can mean the difference between obtaining benefits or being denied. Many disability denials are technical denials because people applied for the wrong program. The difference in the disability program a person can qualify for may make a difference in the amount of monthly income and type of health insurance a person can qualify for as well. In addition, each Social Security Disability program has certain qualifiers for a person to obtain disability benefits.

The two most common programs are Supplemental Security Income and Social Security Disability Income, but there are other programs that people may qualify for too. It is also possible that a person may be able to qualify for both SSI and SSDI due to a limited work history and limited income and resources.

Disabled Widow Benefits (DWB, WIB) lawyer near me

Social Security Disability (SSD, SSDI, DIB, Title II)

To qualify for Title II SSDI you must have sufficient work credits. To be fully insured for Title II SSDI you need 40 credits, 20 of which must be earned within 10 years of the onset date of disability. You can earn one work credit every fiscal quarter, up to four credits per year. Your monthly benefit amount or PIA is based on how long you worked and how much you paid into Social Security. Most workers remain insured for SSDI for approximately 5 years after they stop working, depending on their work history. If approved for SSDI, you will become eligible for Medicare 24 months after approval. Backpay is calculated five months after the onset date of disability. Your family may also be entitled to an auxiliary benefit under your Social Security disability benefits.

Supplemental Security Income (SSI, Title XVI)

To qualify for Title XVI SSI you must be disabled, blind or over age 65. If approved for Title XVI SSI, there are resource and income requirements. Title XVI SSI has a monthly cap of $914 for individuals and $1,370 for married couples. Resources such as cash, stocks, bonds, real estate, and vehicles are used in the asset and income calculation. Cash and assets cannot exceed more than $2,000 or an individual or $3,000 for a married couple. Other key differences between Title II SSDI and Title XVI SSI are if approved for Title XVI SSI, you will be eligible for Medicaid with no waiting period and backpay for Title XVI SSI is calculated from the protective filing date of the application for disability.

Disabled Widow Benefits (DWB, WIB)

To qualify for Disabled Widow Benefits, a widow(er) must be between the wages of 50-60, be unmarried, have been married to the deceased spouse not less than 9 months and not been entitled to an equal or higher benefit based on your own work. Disabled Widowers usually receive 71.5% of their spouses primary insurance amount. Once you turn 60, your benefits would convert to aged widow’s benefits, which are also referred to as spousal survivor benefits.

Disabled Adult Child (DAC or CDB)

A Disabled Adult Child is an unmarried person over age 18 who has a disability that began prior to age 22. They may be eligible for benefits on their parent’s Social Security earning records if their parent receives retirement benefits, disability benefits, or is deceased. Even is a person is receiving Title XVI SSI benefits, they should apply for DAC/CDB benefits when available under their parent’s record, because this benefit is administered under Title II and there is usually a higher benefit amount payable and Medicare may be available.

Children’s Supplemental Security Income

This is the child disability program for children under 18 who are disabled. The income and resource requirements that apply to the adult Title XVI Supplemental Security Income program apply to the children’s program as well.

Free Claim Evaluation

    Date of last communication?
    Date of Birth